Home > Music, Video Games > Mindless Recommendation: Dawn Metropolis

Mindless Recommendation: Dawn Metropolis

If my life had a soundtrack to it, it would probably sound a lot like Anamanaguchi’sDawn Metropolis.

Anamanaguchi is a chip tune punk band from New York, who use an old hacked NES as a synthesizer to create 8-bit style music.

If you’ve never heard of Anamanaguchi don’t worry about it, cause I just heard about them for the first time a few days ago.

Anamanaguchi is responsible for the music in the upcoming Scott Pilgrim game, coming out August 10. The creator of Scott Pilgrim, Bryan Lee O’Malley posted a preview track from the game on his blog the other day.  I listened and I liked what I heard.

So I decided to give Dawn Metropolis a try and I love it.  Think of the greatest music from the NES Mega Man games, crank it up to 11, and shove it in your ear hole.

What I really like about Dawn Metropolis is  that there is a definite progression to the songs, which play out like levels in a video game.

“Mermaid”, the last song on the album for instance reminds me of something you would hear during a final boss, or at the end credits of a game.

You can hear the whole thing on Anamanaguchi’s website, and if you want to buy it it’s only about $7 on iTunes which is a great deal.  It’s a really good listen and I’d be suprised if you don’t find yourself humming some of the songs throughout the day.

Some of my favorites from the album are, “Blackout City”, “Jetpack Blues, Sunset Hues”, and the titular track “Dawn Metropolis”.

If you like old school 8-bit music give Dawn Metropolis a try and feel the 8-bit beat.

Categories: Music, Video Games
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

