Home > Manga, Mindless Babble, News > The Death of One Manga

The Death of One Manga

A few weeks ago manga scanlation hosting site One Manga announced that due to pressure form manga publishers in North America it would be forced to take down all manga, regardless if it’s been picked up for publishing in North America.

The day has finally come, and if you were to go to One Manga’s site you would see that all manga series have been suspended.

This is indeed a sad day at large for the manga community because One Manga was so much more than just a place where you could read free manga.

For me it was more about discovery.  One Manga opened my eyes to a large number of series that I might have never have read if it was not for them.

Don’t get me wrong, I’m not one of those people who only takes and doesn’t give back.

The vast majority of the series that I’ve first read on One Manga I end up buying, or I plan to buy when they get a publisher in North America.  Until that day comes One Manga was the only place I had where I could read some of these series.

And since I’m a college student I’m not made of money, so it was nice to have a place where I could still read these series until I had enough money to pick them up on my own.

I know that One Manga closing down doesn’t mean the end of websites of it’s kind, but I have yet to find one that comes close to the amount and variety of content that One Manga had.

One Manga has been a bit of a home for me on the Internet, and it was comforting to know that for the past 3 years that I’ve been going there, if I was ever bored I had a place I could go and start reading something new to pass the time.

So for the countless hours I’ve spent reading manga on your site, Thank You One Manga.  You will be missed.

Categories: Manga, Mindless Babble, News
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

