Home > Awesome, News, NGP, Trophies, Video Games > Sony’s next handheld revealed: The NGP

Sony’s next handheld revealed: The NGP

Last night at a press event in Japan, Sony revealed it’s newest handheld device codenamed the NGP or next generation portable.

First off I want to say the NGP is damn sexy.

So damn sexy

Secondly it was announced that the NGP will support Playstation Network Trophies, which is great news for me since I’m a massive trophy whore.  So now I can take my trophy whoring out on the rode with me, HORRAY!!!!

Thirdly since I wasn’t at the event I can only go over what I’ve hear from other sites, but it’s being claimed to rival the PS3 in graphics, it will have an area dubbed LiveArea which seems to function like PS3’s XMB.  There will also be two analog control sticks, a touch screen on the front, and a touch pad on the back.  Games that were shown include Uncharted Portable, LittleBigPlanet and Resistance. No price point was announced but a release window of holiday 2011 was given.

The NGP's LiveArea. Note the two most important pieces of this photo, Trophies and Uncharted Portable.

I didn’t think  I would get this excited about the NGP but it just looks so damn good, and the addition of trophies really peaked my interest.  The real question is what Sony is going to do to get people interested in buying it, with the 3DS coming out most attention will be on that.  Hopefully they learned their lesson from the PS3’s launch and won’t charge to much for it scaring potential buyers away.

Categories: Awesome, News, NGP, Trophies, Video Games
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

