Home > List, Top 10, Video Games > Top 10 Games of 2011: #10 Dead Space 2

Top 10 Games of 2011: #10 Dead Space 2

The original Dead Space was my Game of the Year for 2008, so needless to say I had a lot of expectations going into Dead Space 2.  For the most part Dead Space 2 delivered, it provided a bigger more action pact experience, but it still managed to maintain the great claustrophobic survival horror feeling of the first game.

The reason for Dead Space being on this list is not just cause it’s a great game but because it’s the only game this year that provided me with that genuine feeling of terror.

Cautiously walking down a small dark corridor, while every little sound makes my hairs stand on end.  And just when I think it’s safe BAM!!! a necromorph jumps out from inside a vent!  As the necromorph charges at me as I franticly stumble the controls trying to pull out my plasma cutter, as the necromproph gets closer.  In my panicked state I mange to get off a few good shots cutting off its limbs making the necromorph nothing more than a pile of rotting meat on the floor.  As I slowly walk away I breath a sigh of relief knowing that I’m safe… for now.

While Dead Space 2 isn’t the scariest game of all time it was the only game this year that provided me with that frantic OMG I’M GONNA DIE feeling as I played. So for that reason Dead Space 2 earns its place on the list.

  1. January 9, 2012 at 7:46 pm

    Hey I read this article by click through from Tumblr. Nice read, I love Dead Space 2, but I have to say, I think Dead Space 1 was better only because it was such a brand new experience. Anyways I checked out your blog and I was wondering if you were interested in writing a guest review or rant on my blog (wordpress not Tumblr).

    • January 9, 2012 at 9:02 pm

      Thanks for reading my post!

      I agree with you that Dead Space 1 was a better game pretty much for the same reasons as you, but since I’m going over my favorite games of 2011 I figured I’d keep my negative thoughts out of it and just focus on what was good about it.

      And I’d be interested in taking up some additional work.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

