Home > List, Mass Effect 2, Top 10, Video Games > Top 10 Games of 2011: #7 Mass Effect 2

Top 10 Games of 2011: #7 Mass Effect 2

Now I know Mass Effect 2 originally came out in 2010, but the PS3 version came out this year and it was my first chance to actually play it.  So because of that Mass Effect 2 gets to sneak on to the list this year.

I can’t remember a time that I’ve been as emotionally invested in game than when I was playing Mass Effect 2.  It provides a story like few other games can making the story uniquely the players depending on how you choose play it and what choices you make. Because of this Commander Shepard becomes so much more than your avatar, but he/she literally becomes the representation of yourself in the game, making you more invested in the world and those who inhabit it.

I loved getting to know more about my crew members, to the point that I found myself truly caring for them by the end of the game.  When the end game scenario started I found myself genuinely worried for the safety of each member of my crew not knowing if I made the right decisions that would see my all crew survive to the end.

For as ambitious as Mass Effect 2’s story is I can’t really say the same about the gameplay, as it boils down to nothing more than a 3rd person squad based shooter with a few special abilities thrown in to mix it up.  While the gameplay is nowhere near bad it just isn’t as impressive as the game’s story.

So for emotionally investing me in a game like no other before, and one of the best stories I’ve experienced in a game Mass Effect 2 more than earns its spot on this list.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

