Home > 365 Project, Art, Capcom, Doodle, Doodle A Day, Mega Man, Video Games > Doodle A Day: Day 47 Crystal Man

Doodle A Day: Day 47 Crystal Man

When you take away all of his crystal orbs, Crystal Man is a real basic design and for some reason I really like it.  Maybe it’s because I just drew a guy with a train for a head, but I’ve always though the Robot Masters we’re at their best when they were just simple designs.  When you get out of the 8-bit era the designs for the Robot Masters start to become more complex and they lose a lot of their charm.  I think that might be part of the I don’t tend to like Mega Man 7 and 8 as much as the rest of the classic series.

  1. March 22, 2012 at 5:48 pm

    Oh, I don’t know, complexity isn’t all bad! I actually liked quite a few of the robot masters from the X series, and the first Megaman-X came out on SNES, well after the 8-bit era. Personal preference, of course.

    Your drawings are getting better🙂

    • March 22, 2012 at 6:03 pm

      I don’t necessarily mean complexity is bad for everything, I just think for the Classic series it’s best when they keep the designs simple. I love the designs for the Mavericks from the first few X games, but I don’t think the designs necessarily stay as strong throughout the X series as they did for the Classic series.

      And thanks for the compliment🙂

      • March 22, 2012 at 9:48 pm

        No, you’re right. They do get a little sketchy around Split Mushroom and Cyber Peacock and so. Haha. Oh lord, those are awful. And the dung beetle. Him too.

      • March 22, 2012 at 10:03 pm

        And let’s not forget the period where every Maverick was named after a member of Guns ‘N Roses.

      • March 22, 2012 at 10:05 pm

        Haha, indeed. Good lord. You know, in Chrono Trigger they did that too. Magus’ three generals were: Ozzy, Slash, and Flea. These darn game developers think they’re so clever.

      • March 22, 2012 at 10:10 pm

        Wow. I can’t believe I never noticed that before in Chrono Trigger.

  2. March 23, 2012 at 1:16 pm

    Another Gamer :
    No, you’re right. They do get a little sketchy around Split Mushroom and Cyber Peacock and so. Haha. Oh lord, those are awful. And the dung beetle. Him too.

    Hey, I liked X4!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

