Home > 365 Project, Art, Capcom, Doodle, Doodle A Day, Mega Man, Opinion, Video Games, Writing > Doodle A Day: Day 75 Duo and a Mega Man 8 rant

Doodle A Day: Day 75 Duo and a Mega Man 8 rant

It’s my 75th doodle, HUZZAH!  To celebrate here’s a rant about Mega Man 8!

The day I’ve been loathing since I’ve started doodling has finally arrived.  Today marks the beginning of Mega Man 8 and I despise Mega Man 8.  I’ve mentoned before that I’ve been playing through all the classic Mega Man games as I’ve been doing these doodles and Mega Man 8 is the only game I couldn’t finish. Not because it was to hard, but I just couldn’t stand paying it anymore.

Why do I hate Mega Man 8 so much?  The first and most obvious reason is because of the game’s sound design.  I’m no just talking about the famously horrible voice acting littered throughout the game but the game’s music as well.  The best part of any Mega Man game has always been the music but Mega Man 8 ruins that by filling Mega Man 8 with nothing but a bunch of generic rock and jazz tracks.

 

But sound design normally isn’t enough to make me despise a game, the level design in Mega Man 8 is also pretty horrible as well.  And it’s one thing to play through a bad level but when the visuals make you want to tear out your eyes it makes the whole experience a lot worse.  Not that the graphics are particularly bad just the colour pallets they used are so bright I can’t stand to look at them.

The only redeeming thing I can say about Mega Man 8 isn’t even about Mega Man 8, but rather Rockman 8 from Japan.  Both versions of the game open with the same animated intro, the US version has some generic jazz rock song playing during it that doesn’t really get you to excited for anything.

 

But the Japanese version has this catchy J-Pop intro that really gets you pumped up and saying “LET’S PLAY SOME FUCKING MEGA MAN!!!”  The opening also brings about a sense of limitless potential within the game that unfortunately is never reached.  But it’s nice to believe if only for a second your about to play something amazing.

 

That about ends my Mega Man 8 rant so I suppose I should say a few words about Duo.  Duo was introduced in Mega Man 8 as a main focal point for the game’s story, he’s from space and he has a big arm.  Other than that there isn’t much to say about Duo as he’s kind of a forgettable character not really showing up in any other classic entries of the series.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

