Home > 2012, News, Opinion, Video Games > E3 2012 Round Up and Impressions Day 1

E3 2012 Round Up and Impressions Day 1

So E3 began today and all of the big names except for Nintendo had there press conferences.  So with the final conference over I thought I’d give my thoughts on some of the stuff that caught my eye.

P.S. I put this together in a hurry so I apologize for any spelling or grammatical errors.

Microsoft
Don’t have a 360 so I didn’t watch the press confrecne but from what I hear it was nothing but Halo 4 and a bunch of Kinect stuff.  So if your into that kind of thing good for you!

EA
Dead Space 3 was really the only thing that I was interested in during EA’s press conference and I don’t know how to feel about it.  While the demo and trailer that were shown look really good, Dead Space 3 looks like it’s going away from its survival horror roots in favor for a more action oriented co-op experience.  I hope this isn’t the case as the original Dead Space is one of my favorite games of this generation and I’d hate for the series to lose what made it so good to begin with.

 

Ubisoft
Ubisoft actually had a really strong showing this year the highlight of course being Assassin’s Creed 3 which looks freaking amazing!!!  AC3 looks like what would happen if Assassin’s Creed and Red Dead Redemption made sweet sweet love and had a beautiful love child together.  Ubisoft also showed off some naval battles that you’ll get to take part of in the game and it’s looking like a really good addition to the AC formula (unlike the tower defense crap we got in Revelations).

Other notable things from Ubisoft are Rayman Legends the sequle to last year’s Rayman Origins which is looking like more of the same, but Rayman Origins was amazing so having more of that really isn’t a bad thing.

Ubisoft’s big reveal was their new IP called Watch_Dogs that has you taking control of some sort of super hacker who can hack into anything to manipulate the environment.  While I like the premis I wasn’t really floored by the demonstration that was given but the game looks like it has some serious potential behind it.

Sony
Sony started off big with revealing Heavy Rain creator Quantic Dream’s new game Beyond: 2 Souls.  Not a lot of details about what the game is actually about but it stars Ellen Paige and she seems to be able to communicate with some sort of ghost.  Beyond is looking really good and it’s a game I’m very eager to learn more about.

Sony also did some stuff with Playstaion All-Stars Battle Royale (worst name ever) announcing a Vita version of the game as well as giving a demonstration of it.  My feelings about this game are a bit mixed, I love the idea of a Sony Smash Bros. but I’d rather have a straight up copy of the formula that makes Super Smash Bros. so great rather than this building up your super meter nonsense.  2 new characters were also revealed: Uncharted’s Nathan Drake, and Bioshock’s Bid Daddy.  The inclusion of Nathan Drake is a no-brainer but Big Daddy is a pleasent surprise.

Sony also showed the first single player footage of God of War Ascension which is looking like more God of War.  The demo was good but it didn’t blow me away like God of War 3’s E3 demo did.

And last but not least we finally got to see the first real gameplay footage for the Last of Us, and in true Naughty Dog fashion the game looks absolutely phenomenal.  I really like how the game has an emphasis on stealth as opposed to Uncharted’s run and gun gameplay.

So far the first day of E3 has been pretty good and unless Nintendo just blows it out of the park tomorrow I think Sony is going home as this year’s winner.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

