Home > Uncategorized > E3 2012 Day 2 Nintendo

E3 2012 Day 2 Nintendo

I apologize for the wall of text but there really wasn’t any media out by the time I wrote this. So here’s a picture of Nintendo President Satoru Iwata holding some bananas.

So Nintendo’s big E3 press conference happened today and their big focus was showcasing the Wii U and what it can do.  So is the Wii U gonna revolutionize gaming?  Is it something that I’m gonna run out and buy day one?  From what I’ve seen the answer to both these questions is no.

The press conference started off really strong with Shigeru Miyamoto coming out revealing Pikmin 3 for the Wii U and giving a brief demonstration of it.  I’m happy that Pikmin 3 has finally been announced as I’ve been eagerly waiting for this game since Pikmin 2 came out in 2004.  It looks a lot like the Pikmin I know and love but this time there will be four character to take control of and they revealed one new Pikmin type a Rock Pikmin.

After showing off Pikmin 3 they took some time to talk about just what the Wii U can do but they didn’t give any kind of price point or exactly when the Wii U will be coming out. But just from the tablet along the Wii U looks like it’s going to be costly.

Other than Pikmin 3 Nintendo really didn’t offer anything for the Wii U that would make me run out and buy the damn thing.  They showed New Super Mario Bros. U which I honestly don’t care about, I wasn’t a fan of New Super Mario Bros Wii so I don’t see why I should be excited for this.

They also showed off a bunch of casual stuff like Wii Fit U, some singing game creatively called Sing, a GTA-type Lego game called Lego City all stuff I couldn’t care about even if you paid me.

Nintendo’s other “big” reveal was a Nintendo theme park game called Nintendo Land which just seems like another mini-game collection with a Nintendo themed coating.

They also showed off a a couple of 3rd party titles like Batman Arkham City: Armored Edition which gives Batman and Catwoman some new armored suits which can build up power for stronger attacks.  They showed off some of the Wii U funtionality but it all seems way to gimmicky to me, controlling a batarang with the Wii U tablet really isn’t something I’d call revolutionary.

They also showed a sizzle real of a bunch of 3rd part games coming to Wii U like Darksiders 2, Ninja Gaiden 3 and Mass effect 3 but in all honesty I don’t see why anyone would go out and by these games for Wii U if they have a 360, PS3 or PC.

The press conference was mainly about the Wii U and a separate conferences focusing on the 3DS will be happening sometime tomorrow.  But Nintendo did take some time to show 3, Mario themed 3DS games and they have me way more excited over anything they showed for the Wii U.

The first 3DS game they showed was New Super Mario Bros. 2 which is looking so much better than its Wii U counter part. Nintendo also gave the game a release date August 19.  The 2nd game was Paper Mario Sticker Star which will have a focus on collecting stickers you find throughout the world and using them in battle.  And last but not least we got to see Luigi’s Mansion: Dark Moon, which will feature multiple mansions and a lot of different enemy types.  I was a big fan of the original Luigi’s Mansion so I’m glad to see it getting a second chance.  Both Paper Mario and Luigi’s Mansion are coming out sometime this holiday season.

So that was the bulk of what happened from today press conference and I have to say I’m very disappointed with what Nintendo showed.  From the get go the Wii U was something I had no real interest in playing, and Nintendo really failed to do anything to persuade me other wise.

But what about you? What do you think about Nintendo’s job at E3 so far and what do you think of the Wii U? Sign off in the comments and let me know.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

